Chocolate&Orange Madeleines – Madeleines Chocolat&Orange

I know, Madeleines again, i promise I’ll try to come up with more original recipes in the future but i kinda had to leave you with this “last” one since i am going away for a long (and wonderful) weekend to the place of birth of the Madeleine, COMMERCY!

My mom’s family comes from this town and do not celebrate Xmas but Saint Nicolas. Which is, let’s put it this way, the most wonderful weekend of the year for me and my cousins. We are about 30 people gathering in my grandparent’s house, eating, opening a sea of presents, singing, drinking (a bit), running to not miss the Saint Nicolas parade, eating some more, and watching crap on TV piled up on the couch.
I’m taking a break in my working out routine, which should do my body some good, i’ll try to tell my mind about it.

Every year as the 6th of December approches it’s getting harder and harder to hide my excitation even though this year i will have to celebrate it without my little sister who did not know, 5 years ago when she decided she would be a doctor, that she will have to miss Saint Nicolas 2013 to take an exam. I assume she would have changed carrier path had she known that in advance.

Anyhow, this weekend, i will, among other things, eat REAL Madeleines. We always squizz in a walk to the factory (litteraly 5 minutes away from the house) and breath in the wonderful smell, while we try to decide between regular Madeleines, chocolate chips, raspberry Madeleines and tones of other different tastes.

INGREDIENTS

100g of sugar
140 g of flour
3  big spoons of cacao powder
7 big spoons of orange jam
a bit more of 1 dl of melted butter
2 eggs
1 tea spoon of baking powder

WHAT TO DO WITH THEM

EASY: mix the flour, baking powder, cacao powder – Mix the eggs and the sugar, then mix everything together and add the butter. Let the dough rest covered in the fridge for at least 2 hours. Pour a big spoon and half of dough in the buttered mould and put in the oven at 190 degres for about 8 minutes.

DSC_0230

fika: wonderful swedish concept involving all kind of snacks, tea/coffee and friends at any time of the day
Fika: un concept suédois merveilleux impliquant tout type de snacks, thé/café et des amis/collègues à tout moment de la journée

Je sais je sais, encore des Madeleines, je promets que je vais essayer d’être plus originale à l’avenir mais franchement j’étais un peu obligé vu que je part pour un long weekend au pays de la Madeleine, COMMERCY !

La famille de ma maman vient de là bas et ne fête pas vraiment Noël mais Saint Nicolas. Pour faire court disons que c’est le plus merveilleux weekend de l’année pour moi et mes cousins. Une trentaine de personnes qui s’entassent dans la maison de mes grands parents pour manger, boire (un peu), chanter, ouvrir des tas de cadeaux, courir pour ne pas rater la parade, manger encore un peu et regarder des anneries à la TV entassés sur le canapé.
Je prends une pause dans ma routine d’entrainement, ca devrait faire du bien à mes ptits muscles douloureux, faut juste que j’en parle avec moi même. 

Tous les ans alors que le 6 décembre approche j’ai de plus en plus de mal à cacher mon exitation. Malheureusement cetet année il faudra compter sans ma petite soeur qui ne savait pas. lorsqu’elle a décidé il y a cinq ans qu’elle serait medecin qu’elle raterait Saint Nicolas 2013 à cause d’un exam. Je suis persuadée qu’elle aurait changé de projet de carrière si elle l’avait su 😦 

Bref, ce weekend je mangerai, entre autre, de vraies Madeleines. On trouve toujours le temps de faire un tour par la fabrique (à 2 pas) et on y inspire à plein poumons cette merveilleuse odeur alors qu’on tente de se decider entre la Madeleine classique, celle aux pépites de chocolat ou celle à la Framboise…

INGREDIENTS

100g de sucre
140 g de farine
3  grosses cuillères de cacao
7 grosses cuillères de confiture d’orange
un peu plus d’1dl de beurre fondu
2 oeufs
1 petite cuillère de levure

QUE FAIRE AVEC

Facile: mélanger la farine, la levure et le cacao, mélanger les oeufs et le sucre puis tout mélanger ensemble et ajouter le beurre. Laisser la pâte reposer, couverte, au frigo au moins 2h puis disposer une grosse cuillère et demi de pâte dans les moules beurrés et mettre au four à 190c pendant environ 8 minutes.

22 thoughts on “Chocolate&Orange Madeleines – Madeleines Chocolat&Orange

Please let me know what you think, i love to read you - N'hésitez pas à me laisser un ptit mot, j'adore vous lire !

