Orange Madeleines – Madeleines à l’orange

My mom was born in Commercy. Commercy is the home of this wonderful small cake called Madeleines. The fabric is litteraly 7 minutes from my grandparents’ house and we go there. A lot.

I adore Madeleines. Not only because it is linked to all kind of cheerful family memories but also because they smell amazing, the look so yummy with their golden plumpy bump, and they taste delicious. Doesn’t matter if you pick the regular ones, the chocolate ones, the orange ones, they’re all so soft and will make you feel better…and feel you want another one.
You can buy many different kinds of Madeleines now a days, everywhere, in lots of different packaging. But the real ones, from the Commercy Fabric, the ones you buy in a big plastic package och even a cardboard box in which each Madeleine is individually packed…hum… i can picture my dad pressing on the plastic till it pops open and my dog getting crazy just at the sound of it.

Anyhow, you got it. I have a thing for Madeleines.
So you can imagine my happiness when i got a Madeleine mould for my 27th birthday from 2 of my friends. Believe it or not i had never thought of trying making Madeleines. I guess i assumed it was out of my league cause they would never taste as good as the real ones. But when i open my present i got super excited and accepted the challenge.

That was 2 months ago. I had been glancing at some Madeleines recipes online but it’s only this weekend i actually took my mould out and gave it a try.
I decided to go for orange taste cause it’s good, kinda easy and well, i had an orange left. Also cause i didnt feel like trying the regular ones…too much of a challenge to get the taste right for a first try.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1.5 dl of melted butter
  • 150g of flour ( i used whole wheat flour)
  • 1 and 1/4 tea spoon of baking powder
  • 2 eggs
  • 100 g of sugar
  • 1/2 tea spoon of orange zest
  • 3 table spoon of milk
  • For the orange glaze:
  • 150g of icing sugar
  • 2 table spoon of orange juice ( i used freshly squeezed from the orange i had left)

WHAT TO DO WITH THEM

Pre heat the oven at 230 degres.
Mix flour and baking flour in a bowl.
In another bowl mix the eggs, the sugar, the orange zest and the milk until it’s totally combined and smooth.
Add it to the flour mix and then add the butter.
Leave in the fridge, covered, for at least 2 h

Then butter your mould and fill it. Bake the Madeleines for 8-9 min.
Let them cool down a bit before you cover them (or in my case dip the bottom part) into the orange glaze.

DSC_0962

Not to brag but they disappeared pretty fast on Saturday night. I had one this morning for breakfast, the only one that was left. Im pretty pleased with myself. It tasted really good. The flour really gives a different texture than the regular ones but it’s quite pleasant. The orange taste is not too strong but present and the glaze ads a little texture. Yum.

DSC_0937

Only 8-9 minutes in the oven ! It goes so fast you can actually see their little pump grow !
Seulement 8-9 minutes au four, ca va tellement vite que l’on peut voir leur ventre dodu monter !

DSC_0964

Ma maman est née à Commercy. La ville de ce merveilleux petit gateau qu’est la Madeleine. La fabrique est à environ 7 min de la maison de mes grands parents. Autant dire qu’on y passe, régulièrement.

J’adore les Madeleines. Pas seulement parce que ca me rappelle plein de bons souvenirs, mais aussi parce qu’une Madeleine ca sent merveilleusement bon, ca a l’air tellement gourmand (long shot mais Soufy si tu lis cela big dedicace Florent Master Chef) avec sa petite bosse dodue toute dorée, et c’est tout simplement délicieux. Que vous choisissiez les classiques, les aux chocolats ou à l’oranges, elles sont toutes moelleuses et vous réconfortent…

Vous trouvez des Madeleines un peu partout maintenant, dans tout type de packaging. Mais les vraies, celles de la fabriques qu’ont achètes dans des gros paquets plastiques ou même dans des cartons dans lesquels les Madeleine sont empaquetées individuellement…hum…je peux imaginer mon papa en train d’appuyer sur le plastique pour qu’il eclate et mon chien qui s’excite rien qu’en entendant le bruit familier.

Bref, vous avez compris, j’aime bien les Madeleines.
Vous imaginez ma joie lorsque j’ai recu un moule à Madeleine pour mes 27 ans. Croyez le ou non je n’avais jamais ne serait ce qu’envisagé de tenter des Madeleines. Je crois que je ne me sentais juste pas à la hauteur.
J’ai regardé quelques recettes en ligne et je me suis lancée ce weekend. Je me suis décidée pour un gout orange. Parce que c’est bon, plutôt simple, et puis j’avais une orange en rab. Et aussi parce que je ne me sentais pas de faire les Madeleines classiques pour une première fois, un vrai challenge.

Pas pour me la jouer mais elles ont disparu assez rapidement samedi soir. J’ai gouté la dernière qui restait ce matin au ptit dej. J’avoue que je suis plutôt satisfaite. Elles sont bonnes. La farine complète apporte une texture différente mais pas désagréable, l’orange est présente mais pas trop forte et le glaçage est juste ce qu’il faut de sucre. Miam

INGREDIENTS

  • 1.5 dl de beurre fondu
  • 150g de farine ( j’ai utilisé de la farine complète)
  • 1 et 1/4 cuillère à café de levure
  • 2 oeufs
  • 100 g de sucre
  • 1/2 cuillère à café de zeste d’orange
  • 3 grandes cuillères de lait
  • Pour le glaçage à l’orange
  • 150g de sucre glace
  • 2 grandes cuillères de jus d’orange (j’ai pressée l’orange qui me restait)

QUE FAIRE AVEC

Pré chauffer le four à 230 degrés
Mélanger la farine et la levure dans un bol.
Dans un autre bol mélanger les œufs, le sucre, le zeste d’orange et le lait. Bien mélanger jusqu’à ce que le mélange soit bien lisse.
Ajouter la farine/levure au reste puis ajouter le beurre.
Laisser reposer, couvert, au frigo pendant au moins 2h.

Ensuite, beurrer le moule et le remplir, ne pas hésiter à remplir chaque “madeleine”. Mettre au four pour 8-9 minutes.
Laisser refroidir un peu avant de mettre une couche de glaçage (ou de les tremper en ce qui me concerne).

DSC_0966 DSC_0968
Of course once you’ve got the recipe it’s just a question of what do you want to dip them in !
Evidemment une fois qu’on a la recette la question est “Dans quoi je vais les tremper cette fois ci?”

Chocolate?

DSC_0063

2 thoughts on “Orange Madeleines – Madeleines à l’orange

    • Oh merci merci merci Sadaf ! Anne m a envoyé une photo c’est super joli ce que tu as fait ! Et ca m a fait trop plaisir de savoir que tu avais fait une de mes recettes !!! Trés Bonnes fêtes !

Please let me know what you think, i love to read you - N'hésitez pas à me laisser un ptit mot, j'adore vous lire !

