catch-all cupcakes – Cupcakes fourre-tout

Like i was saying, fall is here. This is gonna be my forth winter in Sweden and i’ve learnt my lesson. I’m already taking my vitamins and stuffing myself with all kinds of fruits. The thing is that fruits get bad pretty fast and we sometimes have more than we can chew.

This weekend i had a mango and 2 peaches that had to be taken care of. No way i was gonna throw away fruits. So i decided to make mango/peach cupcakes.
The funny things with baking is that you can follow a recipe to the teaspoon and it can end up tasting really weird, or you can follow your instinct and end up with an amazing cake. It’s true, it happens. But honestly, you also often fail. And learn from it.
So on Saturday morning i almost failed. I kinda failed but i saved it. Chocolate can save any kind of situation i think.

So here is what i did. The base is inspired of Sally’s baking addiction muffins recipe.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 mango
  • 2 peaches
  • 70 g of honey
  • 50 g of brown sugar
  • 120 g of greek yogurt
  • 2 Dl of milk
  • 130g of Peanut Butter
  • 2 tea spoon of vanilla extract
  • 225 g of flour
  • 1 tea spoon of cinnamon
  • 1 tea spoon of baking powder
  • 1 tea spoon of baking soda

WHAT TO DO WITH THEM

Peal the fruits and blend in the blender. I think that was my first mistake there, i mixed too much and then it was too liquid.
Mix the fruits mixure, the honey, the sugar, the yogurt, the egg and the milk.
Then add the vanilla extract and the peanut butter. Second mistake here. My mistake was to think as if i was using bananas. Peanut butter and bananas work like a charm together. But they both have strong taste, especially very ripped bananas. But mango and peaches don’t have such strong tastes and the peanut butter totally killed their taste.
In another bowl, mix the flour, cinnamon, baking soda and powder
Mix lightly together the wet and dry ingredients until just combine.

Fill the tray 3/4 full. Bake at 190c for 15 min.

So they came out  looking good and really soft but they didn’t quite taste like i thought they would. I couldn’t really taste the mango/peaches but mostly the Peanut Butter. So i thought i would cover everything with chocolate and top them with the delicious Austrian Wanner waffles. Which helped, a LOT.

DSC_0934
DSC_0935

DSC_0943 DSC_0951

Comme je le disais, l’automne est là. Ca sera mon 4e hiver en Suède et cette fois j’ai bien appris ma leçon. Je prends déjà mes vitamines et je me gave de fruits et de noix. Le soucis c’est que les fruits doivent être dégustés rapidement et parfois nous avons du mal à garder le rythme.

Ce weekend j’avais une mangue et 2 pèches qui devaient absolument passer à la casserole le plus vite possible. J’ai donc décidé de faire des cupcakes Mango/Peches.
Ce qui est rigolo avec la pâtisserie c’est qu’on peut parfois suivre la recette à la lettre et se retrouver avec un truc au gout douteux, et laisser parler son imagination et produire un truc délicieux. Oui, ca arrive. Mais honnêtement, très souvent, on se ramasse aussi. Et on apprend.
Samedi matin j’ai bien donc failli me ramasser. Le chocolat ca sauve toujours tout de toute façon.

Alors voila ce que ca donne. La base de la recette est inspirée de muffins de Sally’s baking addiction.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 mangue
  • 2 pèches
  • 70 g de miel
  • 50 g de sucre brun
  • 120 g de yaourt
  • 2 dl de lait
  • 130g de beurre de cacahouète
  • 2 cuillères à café d’extrait de vanille
  • 225 g de farine
  • 1 cuillère à café de cannelle
  • 1 cuillère à café de levure
  • 1 cuillère à café de bicarbonate de soude

WHAT TO DO WITH THEM

Eplucher les fruits et les passer au mixeur. Je crois que ma première erreur fut de trop mixer. Du coup c’était super liquide.
Mélanger les fruits avec le miel, le sucre, le yaourt, l’oeuf et le lait.
Puis ajouter l’extrait de vanille et le beurre de cacahouète. 2e erreur: de partir comme si je faisais un mix beurre de cacahouète/banane. Ca va parfaitement ensemble car ces 2 ingredients ont des gouts bien à eux et assez forts, surtout les bananes bien mûres. Mais avec la mangue et la peche ca ne marche pas aussi bien, le beurre de cacahouète couvre le gout des fruits. 
Dans un autre bol mélanger la farine, la cannelle, le bicarbonate de soude et la levure.
Melanger le tout juste ce qu’il faut.

Remplir les moules au 3/4. Faire cuire environ 15 min à 190 degrés.

A la sortie du four ils etaient beaux et surtout super moelleux, mais niveau goût ce n’était pas trop ce que j’avais en tête. On sentait surtout le beurre de cacahouète alors j’ai decidé de couvrir tout ca de chocolat et en “cerise”, une petite gauffre autrichienne de chez Wanner. Ca a bien aidé !

I also used my “wedding cake mould” for the first time 🙂 / J’ai aussi utilisé mes petits moules “pièces montées” pour la première fois ! (merci Alice)

DSC_0952 DSC_0955

Please let me know what you think, i love to read you - N'hésitez pas à me laisser un ptit mot, j'adore vous lire !

